Corcelles, a family domain spanning the centuries
The Richard family took over this prestigious domain in 1984 with the intention of making great wines in a breathtaking location.
Château de Corcelles Estate has a rich history thanks to the legacy of previous generations. The Richard family has proudly continued the tradition and brought a new focus to bear on the quality of the wines.
Here are some key dates of the Corcelles estate:
- In the 15th century Antoine de Laye decided to rebuild the Château de Corcelles on the foundations of a much older stronghold, built during the Carolingian period. At that time, the Douby River, which flows a few meters from the Château, was the boundary between the dioceses of Autun and Lyon and the counties of Burgundy and Beaujolais. Today, the river marks the border between the administrative departments of Saône et Loire and Rhône.
- In the 16th century, the Château became the property of the Ragny de La Magdeleine family. The family played a key role, especially by incorporating the French Renaissance style that characterizes the inner courtyard of the Château.
At the end of the 16th century, and for the next four hundred years, the Château was owned by the Tircuy de La Barre family. Gradually, the name of La Barre was replaced by Corcelles.
- In the 1960s and 1970s, the Chateau underwent a complete roof restoration in order to hold a private banquet.
- The Château has been listed as a National Heritage since 4 February 1927.